In mobile advertising an ad type typically includes banners, graphical images, and/or text ads. These ads are usually limited to a specific character length, pixel size and byte size. These can often be referred to as “the creative.” Ads that include an interactive element beyond a simple banner are referred to as rich media. For example, devices such as the iPhone will often have rich media ads which can include links to the App Store, Maps, Videos, iTunes, Websites, Audio, as well as Direct Calling.
An ad space is a space on a mobile web page or within an app that is reserved for ads.
An app is a software program that functions on a mobile device. Native apps run within a specific device platform, utilizing the device’s unique operating system; non-native apps run on the mobile web. Examples of platforms supporting apps that are currently available in the mobile ecosystem include, but are not limited to, the iPhone App Store, Android Market, BlackBerry World, and the Ovi Store.
Average Cost-per-click (CPC):
The average price you are paying for each click. For example, if you receive two clicks, one costing $0.20 and one costing $0.40, your average CPC is $0.30.
A banner is a common form of advertisement which is typically a graphic image that is displayed on a mobile web page or app. The ad sizes supported by Tapit adhere to Mobile Marketing Association’s (MMA) standard sizes: 120 x 20; 168 x 28; 216 x 36, 300 x 50 & 320x50.
The price you are willing to pay each time a user clicks on your ad.
With regards to Cost-per-click (CPC), this is the amount available to be spent on a campaign each day. With regards to Cost-per-thousand (CPM), this is the total amount of funds available for the duration of a campaign.
Mobile advertising provides brand advertisers with the ability to convey brand messaging and boost overall brand awareness. Banner ads and interactive rich media ad formats allow users to engage and interact with an advertisers brand.
A click is when a visitor interacts with an advertisement by clicking on the ad itself. In the Tapit user interface, a click refers to the total number of times a group of ads or an individual ad has received clicks.
Click-through-rate is the number of times your ads were clicked divided by the number of times your ads were shown. For example, if your ads were shown 1000 times and received 11 clicks, your CTR would be 1.1%.a click refers to the total number of times ads have been clicked on. In the Ad View, CTR is the number of times your ad was clicked divided by the number of times your ad was shown. For example, if your ad was shown 1000 times and received 11 clicks, your CTR would be 1.1%. Visit Tips for Advertisers within the Tapit! Help center for tips on increasing your click-through rate.
The total amount you pay over the duration of time being reported. This is calculated by multiplying the bid price and total number of clicks.
The price paid each time an ad is clicked.
The price for purchasing one thousand ad impressions.
This term is often used by ad agencies and buyers to refer to ad banners and other forms of created advertising. It is often referred to as “the creative” by those in the industry.
Effective cost-per-thousand impressions (eCPM):
Effective cost-per-thousand impressions (eCPM) is an indication of possible publisher earnings per thousand ad impressions. eCPM can be used to compare possible earnings for your ad positions. eCPM is calculated as (Total Earnings / Impressions) x 1000. For example, if your total earnings are $10 and impressions are 9000, your eCPM will be $1.11.
"Above the fold," refers to an ad that is immediately viewable on a mobile webpage or app without requiring the user to scroll down (or sideways) to see the ad.
An impression is the number of times your ads were shown. Within the Tapit user interface, advertisers can view the total number of times their ads were shown or view impression data on a campaign, or individual ad level.
Inventory is the total number of impressions that a mobile web site or application makes available to show ads.
Mobile Marketing Association (MMA):
The leading standards body for setting mobile advertising standards. More information on MMA standards can be found here: http://mmaglobal.com/mobileadvertising.pdf
Reporting allows advertisers and publishers to view performance data on their campaigns or sites / apps.
Rich media ads are characterized as ads that contain some form of an interactive element that is more intricate than a simple banner ad. In the mobile ecosystem rich media ads include, but are not limited to, ads linking to a mobile storefront, video, maps, audio, mobile sites, or even direct calling.
A run-of-network ad is characterized as an ad that is set to run on all sites or apps within a given network without any specified targeting selections.
In the Tapit user interface for the Account View, status indicates if a campaign contains any actively running ads. In the Campaign View, status indicates if a Campaign contains any actively running ads.
Targeting allows advertisers to specify the types of users they would like to reach with their ad. Tapit allows advertisers to target at the Ad level, and offers targeting options that include geographic location, operator, device (including specifics such as platform, operating system and more), manufacturer, and even user demographic data.
Unique Users (UU):
A unique user is a single visitor who is visiting a mobile website or app during a specified time frame. This prevents repeat visits from the same visitor during the specified time frame from being counted twice. A unique users count indicates to advertisers how many individual people may view or interact with their ad during the specified time frame.
User demographic data includes characteristics about the type of user an advertiser may want to reach, such as gender or age group.
A visit is a user visiting a mobile website or app.